3 Things To Reflect On Before The Holidays

If I had to pick a time of year as my most favorite, it would be the days between October 29 and January 1st…known to most Americans as “the holiday season.” This time includes Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day (yes, I celebrate them as two holidays), Hanukkah, New Year’s Eve, and New Year’s Day (again, YES…I celebrate them as two). For me there is an added holiday that starts the season off…October 29th is my birthday! Last week a good friend texted me a meme that put a HUGE smile on my face. The meme was counting down to some of these holidays. It said…

5 Fridays until Thanksgiving…

10 Fridays until Christmas…

11 Fridays until 2017!

I didn’t realize just how close these holidays were until I saw that meme. I also didn’t realize how close we were to 2016 being in the books until I saw that meme. In some ways, it feels like 2016 has been more than 365 days already, but in other ways I couldn’t believe that I only had two and a half more months to make the year count.

So far this year I’ve launched a new coaching practice and blog, FeelFreetoGrow.com, I wrote and released my first book, Satisfy Your Soul, and somehow I also managed to visit the sandy white beaches of the gulf coast, flashy Las Vegas, and most memorable – the Grand Canyon.

I have either met or exceeded 13 of the goals I set for this year, however there are still some things I’d like to accomplish so I can look back on 2016 with peace, knowing I did my best. Here are a 3 things we should all reflect on before the holidays consume our days…

1) Take Care of You

For many (maybe most) the holiday season is the biggest blow to our bodies. Because of the time squeeze we experience, quality sleep is one of the things we cheat ourselves out of in a hurry. Holiday parties and get-togethers full of drinks and treats leave us snacking on tasty deliciousness instead of nourishing our body with good foods and adequate water. And exercise…who has time for that in December?

You do. This holiday season, give yourself the gift of focus and self-care. It’s okay to still celebrate the beauty of the season (I certainly plan to) but let’s not forget our priorities in the process. Remaining focused on our commitment to self-care and self-love will be rewarded in January. When the rest of the world is falling on their knees in repentance, looking like a newcomer at the gym, your consistency will enable you to adjust your goals and action plans to bigger things – and that won’t be a description of your waist line.

2) Know Who To Say Yes To

There’s a joke among many gay men that we tend to be single and ready to mingle during the summer, and as fall approaches we gravitate more towards committed relationships. Unfortunately this fall trend also enables an issue among many as well – being needy for love. Louise Hay often describes the difference between the need for love, and being needy for love. When you are needy for love, you tend to say yes to the first person who shows up who is willing to date you. More times than not, this fast track to a relationship leads to unhealthy, co-dependent relationships that drain you more than they add value to your life.

In chapter 4 of my book Satisfy Your Soul I list a few questions to ask yourself when evaluating whether a particular relationship is enriching your life or not:

  1. Are they committed to excellence?
  2. Do we bring out the best in each other?
  3. Does this relationship refresh me or drain me?

Click here to go deeper and get your copy of the book now.

As temperatures begin to drop, and the desire to have someone to cuddle with increase, remember this: positive relationships form the foundation of a happy, rewarding life. As Marc Chernoff, co-blogger at Marc & Angel Hack Life, said in his helpful blog 5 Ways to Meet the Right People, “If your time and energy is misspent on the wrong relationships, or on too many activities that force you to neglect your good relationships, you can end up in a tedious cycle of fleeting friendships, superficial romances that are as thrilling as they are meaningless, and a general sense of wondering why you always seem to be running in place, chasing affection.”

3) Action > Words

Today, right now, life is inviting you to step into your dreams. You have to respond. Take some time on your lunch break today, or this evening as you are relaxing before bed, and review the goals you set for 2016. What have you accomplished? What is left to complete this year? What adjustments do you need to make to your daily schedule to make this happen?

If you didn’t have any goals set for this year, take some time to dream about what you would like to see accomplished in your life this year. Go another step and actually write out your ideas. I assure you, there is nothing about your current situation that is keeping you from making progress (except your decision of inaction). As the saying goes, actions speak louder than words.

Every morning you have the same two options: continue to sleep with your dreams or get up and do something that turns them into your reality. Stop scheduling your dream life for “tomorrow” or for some mythical time in your future where everything is just perfect and right. That day will never come, and if you continue to wait until your circumstances are just right to begin, your dreams will never come either.

In the final chapter of my book I outline The Focused Life Plan, which will help you establish your own life goals and action plans to see them come to fruition. I have made this template available for download absolutely free on my website here.

The reason you see that friend getting more fit on Facebook, or achieving record-breaking sales at work this year is because they are investing time, money, energy, planning, and sweat into seeing results. What you don’t usually see on Facebook is the vast majority of positive changes come about in someone’s life simply because one other person cares for them, believes in them, and motivates them (a fitness coach, a business mentor, or the like). I am offering myself to you; to be that person that pushes you.

My passion is the privilege of personally investing in the lives of others. I receive messages regularly from countless people asking for guidance and advice. The issues people ask for help with typically revolve around 3 relationships:

  • the relationship with themselves
  • the relationship with others
  • and the relationship with their dreams

You see, life obstacles tend to make their home in one of these three relationships. Is your confidence not where you want it to be? Do you lack a clear vision…or is your vision so big you’re overwhelmed? Are your patterns not supporting your goals? Are you irritable? In a huge transition? Or are you craving one? Is your relationship in a rut…or are you taking your relationship to the next level, and need pre-marriage counselingIf you said yes to any of these, it’s time for us to talk!

If you’re ready to get results that change the direction of your life in real, meaningful ways, that you’ve been struggling to find on your own, let’s do it together! Click here now to schedule a free consultation…my gift to you!

 

I love hearing from my readers...share your thoughts!

